With greatest regret and sorrow, I just switched car insurance from GEICO to eSurance.

Got an email today from GEICO. The 6-month charge for my car insurance went up $25. When I called to see what was going on, I was told that prices in Illinois had gone up in general, that this wasn’t a reflection on me. I was offered a $25 reduction if I sat in a PHYSICAL safe driver class.  Not online. A real-life sit-in-a-chair-like-you’re back-in-grammar-school class.

I hit the web and found eSurance, which is owned by Allstate.

Got the same coverage, deductibles, etc., for almost $200 less.

Sorry to have to leave GEICO after 16 years of coverage. 16 YEARS.

When I called GEICO to tell them, they were surprised that my rate with them was so far off. “We typically are not that far off from what our competitors offer,” I was told.

Oh, really?

About johnvkaravitis

Senior Financial Analyst: Energy, Insurance, IT consulting, Pharmaceuticals, Publishing, Real Estate
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

