Splendex aka Liquid Splenda (sucralose)

I came across a product called Splendex, aka Liquid Splenda.  It’s basically sucralose suspended in water and I think a few preservatives like citric acid and sodium benzoate.  I bought the smallest bottle I could, 1 ounce, for $9.95 (free shipping) from

http://www.splendex.net

I tried two drops in my coffee, and wasn’t thrilled with the result.  Taste-wise, nothing beats sugar.  (I can, however, detect a super-sweet taste on my lips after I take a sip of coffee, so maybe it’s just me.)

I have noticed that I have no problem with sucralose in baked goods.  In fact, I’ve always liked baked goods with sucralose, I have found them in vending machines of all places.  So, my next experiment with splendex will be when I try to bake cookies with it.  It’s impossible to find sugar-free cookies.  I did find Joseph’s sugar-free chocolate chip cookies at a “dollar store”, but they are dry (they call them “crisp”) and not that hot.  In addition, Joseph’s sugar-free cookies contain a sugar alcohol known as maltitol, which allegedly increases gastrointestinal gas.

http://www.amazon.com/Josephs-Sugar-Free-Chocolate-Cookies/dp/B0000DJDHI

 

I’ll blog when I’ll have made my experiment with the cookies.

About johnvkaravitis

Senior Financial Analyst: Energy, Insurance, IT consulting, Pharmaceuticals, Publishing, Real Estate
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

