WordPress blog acting weird – can’t get “theme” to work properly. HERE’S THE FIX:

Hey there everybody.  Recently my WordPress blog was looking really weird, all the “stuff” was showing up in a column, one item / widget after the other no columns, etc.

FINALLY, after about TWO HOURS of putzing around with the links on the WordPress blog, I stumbled across a link that got me back to my “theme” (I use the popular “Twenty Ten” theme).  So, it looked like whatever had hiccuped was fixed.

Well, Firefox crashed, so I when I re-started it, I found that I still had the same problem with my WordPress blog looking all weird, etc.  I had lost my theme.  I started to hunt and peck to find the en.wordpress.com link that had worked, from which I could go to my WordPress blog and get my “theme” back.  Here’s the trick to make WordPress work:

use “https://“, and NOT “http://“.

EDIT:  In Firefox, use add-on “HTTPS-Everywhere 1.2.2” to do this automatically.  You will have to re-boot your computer.

Weird, I know, but my WordPress “theme” is back, and all is well with the world.

I am really starting to get pissed off at the whole “personal computers are so important we can’t live without them or the Internet” thing…… <sigh>

About johnvkaravitis

Senior Financial Analyst: Energy, Insurance, IT consulting, Pharmaceuticals, Publishing, Real Estate
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

