MAT – Miller Analogies Test – result

As promised.  Click on link to see the score results (bottom third of the form letter that I rec’d.)

MAT 06-11-2010

 

About johnvkaravitis

Senior Financial Analyst: Energy, Insurance, IT consulting, Pharmaceuticals, Publishing, Real Estate
This entry was posted in Tests. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to MAT – Miller Analogies Test – result

  1. farhad says:

    had a friend who told me when he scored in the 99th percentile on the lsat, he received a brochure from mensa in the mail a month or so later. have u gotten any literature from them yet or was he bsing me?

    • Hi farhad.

      I haven’t taken the LSAT, so I wouldn’t know. However, I wouldn’t think that the LSAT would release names of who scored what percentile, so I doubt your friend’s claim. There are privacy issues involved, yes? Besides, everyone knows about Mensa, especially people smart enough to score 99th percentile on any of the standardized tests. I don’t think Mensa has any problems attracting members, or any financial need to recruit aggressively.

      I myself have never received any such brochures, and I’ve taken the GRE, the GMAT and the MAT tests this year.

      Have a nice day.

      John V. Karavitis

  2. Pingback: Miller Analogies Test results: Scaled score = 506; Percentile = 99% | John V Karavitis's Blog

  3. Erika says:

    Hi! What scaled score I would need to get the 50 % , all I need is the 50 %. It is true that your undergraduate GPA counts ? My GPA is 3.6, so could you please help me to understand this better ? How many right questions do I have to have????
    Thank you

  4. John Sparacio says:

    I took the MAT test on June 19, 2013. First let me say I do not like these types of test. They are literacy test not intelligent test. IQ and Intelligence test are not true test for ones cognitive functional ability but more a test for how much accumulated knowledge one has; the more information you have acquired and stored the better you will score. Intelligence by definition: 1.The ability to acquire and apply knowledge and skills. If one has no acquired human knowledge then how can one be tested on his or her innate abilities.

    I suffered through the test because my intellect is abstract and multifunctional not linear. I had to resort to my best friend and helper Jesus Christ. All during the test I asked Jesus for help and when I finished I received my grade. I then went to the administrator and asked what the passing grade was, she replied 383, I made a 384; there is a God I exclaimed out loud and His name is Jesus and He lives. In order to get through this world you need a relationship with Him and call on him every time you need legitimate help.

    • John Sparacio says:

      Sorry first paragraph should read:
      I took the MAT test on June 19, 2013. First, let me say I do not like these types of tests. They are literacy tests not intelligence tests. Secondly, IQ and Intelligence tests are not true tests for ones cognitive functional ability but more a test on how much accumulated knowledge one has; the more information you have acquired and stored the better you will score. Intelligence by definition: 1.The ability to acquire and apply knowledge and skills. If one has no acquired human knowledge then how can one be tested on his or her innate abilities.

  5. katpud says:

    I just took a practice MAT to see how I’d do…paid $30 on the Pearson site, and probably should have tried a couple free tests first, as I had no idea what I was getting into. Anyway, the practice test didn’t give me a score, just a percentile range – looks like 75-95%ish. Any idea what that would be score-wise? I assumed the 50th percentile is where the 400’s lie…but after seeing your score/percent, am unsure. It isn’t within a specific group, just the MAT norm group.

    This blog is great, btw. I plan to do some more practicing just to get in the groove of the different types of analogies.

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

